Mel’s TV Reviews: Face Off, season 1

So I’ve always had a love/hate relationship with competition shows. I love fashion and beauty stuff, so I enjoy watching things like RuPaul’s Drag Race and Ink Master, I love tattoos as well as beauty and fashion. But so many of these shows are 90% drama, with contestants yelling at each other all the time, putting each other down, sabotaging the other’s progress, etc. Even bloody cooking competitions have it, for fuck’s sake! America’s Next Top Model was so bad that I (barely) made it through just one season. I had to stop watching Ink Master about halfway through season 2, it had gotten way out of hand.

But then, something wonderful happened. They started playing reruns of Face Off on Space, which I’d only heard of in passing while zipping through the commercials (I never watch anything live, commercials make me violent, so I watch either on dvd or stuff I pvr’d). It looked really cool, though, so I decided to give it a shot. I started recording quickly, but I still missed season 1 and most of 2. But I watched all of seasons 3 and 4, and most of 7 (I think it was), and it was wonderful. Not only was there no drama (save one incident at the beginning of 3, I think it was, between contestants Tommy and Joe, and it’s still nothing compared to other shows, but I digress..), but the competitors actually helped each other! I was so happy to finally have found a competition show that was actually about competition, and not about drama. I won’t talk too much more about the later seasons, I’ll likely do a small review of each season.

No, this post (after my little intro) is about the horror that was season 1.

FaceOff s1

So, since I loved seasons 3 and 4 so much, I decided to go and, err, ‘acquire’ seasons 1 and 2 to see all the episodes that I missed. And man, I should have left well enough alone. Season 1 is awful. It starts with a few of the contestants bitching each other out, and it just went downhill from there. It’s like they had watched all the other competition shows and jotted down notes on how to make your show look as dramatic as possible. There was one girl in particular that I’m positive was kept on every week just to make sure it stayed dramatic. She had very little in the way of skill, and was in the bottom looks for almost every single challenge. Yet she stayed. If I’d seen season 1 first, there’s very little chance that I’d have kept watching.

So if you enjoy competition shows yet hate the drama, I highly reccomend you check out this show. Just skip season 1 😉

M.

Leave a comment