Mel’s 5 Second Audiobook Review: Treasury of Egyptian Mythology

Treasury of Egyptian Mythology (2013)
Written by: Donna Jo Napoli
Read by: Christina Moore

Treasury

(Questions from Audible’s reviews form)

What other book might you compare Treasury of Egyptian Mythology to and why?
I’ve actually never read any other book about Egyptian myths, believe it or not, I’ve only watched stuff on tv, so I don’t really have anything to compare it to.

Which scene was your favorite?
I really couldn’t pick just one, I loved the whole book! But if I absolutely had to pick, it would likely be the story of Osiris, Isis and Set. Horrible and wonderful at the same time!

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?
Made me laugh a time or two, but nothing really extreme.

Any additional comments?
This book was so good! The only thing bad I’d have to say was that it was nowhere near long enough! It was only 3.5 hours, barely enough to whet my appetite. Unfortunately there doesn’t seem to be a whole lot of books quite like this one on Audible. What a shame. So even though it’s only 3.5 hours long, I still give it a 10/10. Wonderful!

M.

13 comments on “Mel’s 5 Second Audiobook Review: Treasury of Egyptian Mythology

        • It was only 3.5 hours listening time. That’s not a very long book at all. The only downside to audiobooks is that I don’t get to see illustrations, of which there are many in this particular book.

          • Unfortunately, my hands, arms and neck don’t like reading books for any longer than an hour, max, less on really bad days. Which is why I got into audiobooks in the first place, so I could start reading again.

          • Yep. When I’m not well, I get as comfy as I can in my bed with blankies and pillows, hook myself up to my phone, close my eyes, and get carried away. It’s wonderful.

          • That sounds so lovely, on audibooks they always seem to choose people with really amazing voices. Thought it does make me wonder how they manage to read erotic material without sounding embarrassed.

          • I know, right!! hehehe
            That reminds me of a time that I was listening to an audiobook at the airport, waiting for my cousin to arrive. I didn’t have my earphones, so I was just listening to it out loud, but there was so much noise that the moment I took it away from my ear, I couldn’t hear it anymore, so I wasn’t worried that anyone else could hear it enough to be bothered. Until, that is, the characters got into a sexy situation. Then I got so paranoid that everyone could hear it, no matter how far away they were. I was so worried about being over-heard, that I couldn’t even enjoy the scene! lol

Leave a Reply

