Mel’s 5 Second Audiobook Review: Classical Mythology

Classical Mythology
Written by: Elizabeth Vandiver
Read by: Elizabeth Vandiver

mythology

(questions from Audible’s reviews form)

What did you love best about Classical Mythology?
I seriously loved everything about this course. I’ve always been interested in the ancients’ myths, but I’ve never really read anything describing them in detail. They were much more bloody (and depressing) than I ever remember seeing on tv…

What was one of the most memorable moments of Classical Mythology?
I particularly loved the lectures that were about the specific gods, their origins and stories, and especially, from those, the stories of Heracles and Aphrodite.

Have you listened to any of Professor Elizabeth Vandiver’s other performances before? How does this one compare?
Nope, this was the first of her courses that I’ve ever listened to. She’s a great lecturer, very clear and easy to listen to. She runs out of breath frequently, and at first I thought it might bother me in the long run, but it thankfully never did.

Any additional comments?
This course is an absoulte gem for anyone interested in classical myths. It mostly covers the Greeks, but Dr V put aside the last few lectures to talk about how the Romans basically took over the Greek’s myths wholesale and made them their own, changing names and not much else (so much for copyright infringement…) I’d definitely recommend this course to anyone interested in ancient myth. It gets a wonderful 9.5/10 from me.

3 comments on “Mel’s 5 Second Audiobook Review: Classical Mythology

  1. Ah, I’d love this soo much! I already have two Greek mythology books, the more the better! I also agree on how the Romans stole their whole mythology ~ the lazy bastards xD

Leave a Reply

