Mel’s 5 Second First Impressions: Face Off, Season 8

Face Off (2011-present)
(Season 8 cast) McKenzie Westmore, Ve Neill, Glenn Hetrick, Neville Page, Laura Tyler, Rayce Bird, Anthony Kosar, and Michael Westmore

Contestants: Darla Edin, Emily Serpico, Gregory Hewett, Julian Bonfiglio, Stephanie Masco, Adam Milicevic, Anthony Reyes, Logan Long, Regina Jiganti, Rob Miller, Alan Carnes, Ben Peter, Daniel Prado, Jamie Leodones, and Kelly Harris

faceoff 8

So, as I’ve mentioned before, I like the idea of a good few of the reality shows out there. There are quite a few of them with themes that I’m interested in; makeup, fashion, tattoos, music, dancing, etc. But so many of them are all drama, no substance. Both Ink Master and America’s Next Top Model only got one season for how awful they were. My favourites, besides this one, are Dancing with the Stars and RuPaul’s Drag Race. Funny how a show about drag queens is one of the least dramatic ones out there… but I digress, as usual.

Face Off is my very favourite reality show. With the exception of the awful season 1 (which I’m glad I didn’t see first, for I wouldn’t have continued), there is no drama, save tiny personal conflicts very, very seldomly. The focus really is on the makeups and costumes, and that’s why I love it. Two episodes into season 8, I find the format much changed, and while there’s still no drama, I’m not entirely sold on the concept of returning champions. This season, three former winners form 3 groups of 5, and compete as teams. It’s not bad, but I figure the show was perfect as is, why fix something if it ain’t broke? But I guess I’ll see how it goes as the show continues, but unless they change it up a little, I certainly hope they’ll go back to their old format for season 9.

This show isn’t on Netflix, but YouTube has a lot of episodes, if you’re interested in checking it out. I definitely reccomend it if you’re interested in special makeup effects.

 

M.

16 comments on “Mel’s 5 Second First Impressions: Face Off, Season 8

    • Thanks so much!

      But you have to be careful how much you’re asking others to check out your page. You went straight to my spam folder, and had I not checked it, I’d never have seen your comment.
      I’m always a fan of a good beauty hack, though. I’ll definitely check out your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

