Mel’s 5 Second Review: Warm Bodies

Warm Bodies
(2013) Nicholas Hoult, Teresa Palmer, Analeigh Tipton, Rob Corddry, Dave Franco, and John Malkovich

warm-bodies

So, I’m not the biggest fan of zombie movies. I’ve seen the original Night of the Living Dead, and while I enjoyed it, it’s definitely not my favorite anything. I just find the whole genre a little dumb. It has to be really good, and contain a lot more than just shambling dead folks to keep my attention. When I saw the trailers for Warm Bodies, I almost peed myself. A zombie comedy that also has a love story? I definitely had to see this. It was way funnier than I had even expected, while still managing to have some good, tense moments, and the romance, while really being the whole point of the “humanizing” that’s happening to the shufflers, is not shoved in your face. Anyone saying that this is just Twilight with zombies needs to shut up and actually go see the movie. It was well written, well acted, and well filmed. And it was really awesome to be able to pick out Montreal landmarks! Had I known it was being filmed in my home town, I may have enjoyed hanging around to catch a glimpse of the zombies in action. All in all, it’s a very entertaining film, and I give it two enthusiastic thumbs up! (And 10/10, hehe.)

This film isn’t currently on Netflix, nor did I find a version on YouTube, but it’s more than worth the price of a rental, or even to buy. The novel it’s based on, by Isaac Marion, is also worth your time. Enjoy!

 

M.

7 comments on “Mel’s 5 Second Review: Warm Bodies

  1. Nice review! I love this movie. I think it’s got a really nice message in it and it’s charming and funny. I love R’s best friend as well “bitches man” and Nicholas Hoult is so likeable in it. Had a lovely soundtrack as well.

  2. P.S I tried reading the book and got about half way through. I found it a bit too ‘dreamy’ and surreal for my tastes though that’s a personal thing, not a slur against the book!

    • Oh yeah? I think the surreal-ness was the thing I enjoyed the most about the book! hehe
      And, hey, you’re allowed to have your personal taste! I advise people to not be rude, not to not have their own opinions 😉

  3. I fell in love with this movie the first time I saw it and loved the book too-one of the sweetest stories I have ever read about a zombie.

Leave a Reply

