Mel’s 5 Second Review: The Lost Boys

The Lost Boys
(1987) Jason Patric, Corey Haim, Keifer Sutherland, Jami Gertz, Corey Feldman, Dianne Wiest, Barnard Hughes, Edward Herrmann, Jamison Newlander, Alex Winter, Billy Wirth, Brooke McCarter, Chance Michael Corbitt, Folsom the Dog, and Cody the Dog

the-lost-boys

This is one of my top 10 movies of all time. Actually, it’s probably my number 1 favorite of all time. It was the first vampire movie I ever saw, and was the beginning of a life-long love affair with all things that go bump in the night. I was 6 years old when this film came out, and when my mom brought it home on VHS, she hid it saying it was too scary for me. So of course I had to see it. I probably saw it a dozen times already by the time she caught me, and since I hadn’t had any of the nightmares she promised I would have if I saw scary movies, she just sighed and let me watch whatever I wanted from that point on. The story isn’t really anything new (I’m not even sure there’s any original ideas left anywhere), but the ride is so fun that it doesn’t matter. Their vampires are the “real” deal; they’re strong, fast, sexy and oh so evil, just the way vamps aught to be, hehe. If for some strange reason you haven’t seen this little classic gem yet, go do it now!! I obviously give it 10/10 đŸ˜€

This film isn’t currently on Netflix, nor did I manage to find a full copy on YouTube, but it’s definitely worth the 10 bucks or so it costs on DVD. Go ahead, don’t be cheap!! hehe

 

M.

4 comments on “Mel’s 5 Second Review: The Lost Boys

  1. I was 17 when it came out and was not thrilled by a hair metal vampire romance. It did have some funny parts though. As far as 80’s vampire films go Fright Night stomps this one into the ground.

    • Hm,not sure I’d agree with your description of the film (I never saw it as a romance film, since Michael and Star’s love isn’t the whole point of the movie, and the hair, well, it was the 80’s, lol!), but of course you’re allowed to your own opinion.
      I absolutely love Fright Night as well. A definite classic!

      Thanks for stopping by! đŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

