Mel’s 5 Second Review: Fright Night

Fright Night
(2011) Anton Yelchin, Colin Farrell, David Tennant, Imogen Poots,Toni Collette, Christopher Mintz-Plasse, Dave Franco, Reid Ewing and Sandra Vergara

FRIGHT NIGHT

Everyone seems to have hated the remake of Fright Night, but I enjoyed it. No, obviously it doesn’t hold a candle to the original, but I was still entertained. Plus David Tennant and Colin Farrell on the same screen? Really, what’s not to like there? hehe. I was a bit upset by what they did to Charley’s character (making him the type of guy who would dump his best friend for a blonde piece of tail), I found it made him much less sympathetic, and made his final scene with Ed much less poignant than it should have been. But despite Colin Farrell’s sexiness, it’s really David Tennant who steals the show. His Peter Vincent was a perfect modern updating of the character. I give it a solid 7.5/10.

The film is currently streaming on Netflix. If you haven’t seen it, go ahead and give it a chance. If you don’t sit there comparing every detail to the original, I’m sure you’d be pleasantly surprised.

M.

12 comments on “Mel’s 5 Second Review: Fright Night

    • People seem to have this obsession with hating things that are “cool” to hate. Remakes, teen films, anything “mainstream”.

      “You like Twilight?? What are you, a moron?”

      “Remakes are such shit, I’m not going to waste my time on this crap.”

      “Ugh, your taste is so mainstream, I bet you like Britney Spears and Justin Beiber too.”

      These are just some of the messages I’ve gotten for giving my opinion on certain films. And as much as I love horror and fantasy, we have some of the crappiest people in our “fandoms”. Anyone who doesn’t particularly like all those “classic” horror movies (which, to me, are mostly boring) is labelled a “fake horror fan”, who only likes that “mainstream shit”.

      And as for those who bash remakes and teen horror and fantasy, 98% of the time, they haven’t even seen the god damned movie they’re bashing! Ugh!

      Ok, I’m done ranting now… :-p Hope I didn’t scare you away!! hehe Thanks for reading!

      • People have actually SENT you that?! How rude! You are expressing your opinion. If they agree, say so, if they don’t, they don’t need to hate on you or put you down!

        I must say that you are right there! On all points. Shitty fandom members, taste they haven’t developed themselves but taken from media to be the desirable ones (I mean look at the original Carrie – I am a heathen for really, really not liking it), AND how people hate on what they haven’t seen!

        😀 No ways, rant away!

        PS: I don’t like Twilight though. Or the Biebs. 😉

        • Damn right they sent me that! And those were the nicest ones! I really don’t understand people like that. If I don’t like the same films you do, that means we have different tastes, NOT that I’m a moron. I’ve actually stopped bothering to answer those people, and I just hit ignore if it’s on a site I can’t erase comments, or I just won’t approve it if it comes through here.

          I actually had one guy post a rude comment here, something along the lines of “Your blog is stupid, you suck”. Needless to say, I didn’t approve the comment. Then I got blasted for only wanting “nice” comments, to which I just sighed and gave up. The point just seemed to pass right over some people.

          I had another guy who decided that he hated me and my work and proceeded to tell me in a comment to about 10 or 12 of my posts. I was just completely dumbstruck. What on earth are people thinking when they do stuff like that?? And why to me? I’m just one teeny voice in the gaping sea of bloggers. Surely they have bigger fish to annoy :-p

          But I’m ranting again, aren’t I? Oh dear :-p

          • .. I am actually flabbergasted by how rude some people are! I am sitting here truly at a loss of what to say about some people and their etiquette… I actually thoroughly enjoy your site, to be perfectly honest! The reviews are fast, snappy, to the point, have your opinion and are really fun. Sometimes you don’t WANT a massive essay. Damn, there are plenty other places that do that!

            🙂 I really have no issues with it, I find it entertaining and extremely interesting.

          • Well, thanks!! ^_^

            I’ve started growing a thicker skin. The first few times I got comments like that, it really hurt my feelings. But after seeing that there’s people like thiss attacking almost everyone who has even a slightly different opinion, I’ve learned to just shrug it off. I never answer them, and once they see they’re getting no reaction from me, they usually go elsewhere. A reaction is what they want, so by denying them that, I force them to either keep trying and just look like an even bigger douche, like that guy I was talking about, or they’ll finally just leave me alone.

            Fans of The Shining are some of the worst I’ve encountered. You’d think I was cannibalizing children by the way some of these people reacted to me saying it was one of the most boring films I’ve ever seen. My goodness…

            I see those “massive essays” of movie reviews everywhere, so I decided I’d try something a little different by just typing up a few lines with my basic opinion, a recommendation (or lack of one), and the trailer. Short and sweet. I’m glad at least one person is enjoying them as much as I am enjoying making them 🙂

          • Good for you! People are such bizarre things sometimes, always cruel and nasty and wanting to be patted on the back for being so. CONFUSING!

            LOL! You see! I enjoyed it because I loved the book, and I loved this interpretation, two totally different stories, but I can see how it could be really boring. I mean heck, it is NOT just a movie I can sit down and pop in without getting ready for it, otherwise I am not up for it and then it is really bland. But The Shining has some really cracked people backing it sometimes!

            🙂 They are awesome, don’t stop. I love being able to look very quickly over what you liked or didn’t like and how it was. I am starting a feature on my blog too for ones that just have my opinion and what not, sometimes I really, really don’t feel like putting together the whole shebang. Meh!

          • I know what you mean! I try to discipline myself to make at least one big post a week, and I was doing good for a while there, but I’ve been a little neglectful to my poor little blog for the past few weeks, hehe. I haven’t done a big post in almost a month! O.O I should get my ass in gear, lol.

          • WOW! I don’t blame you, sometimes things just get really hectic, and there just isn’t time. And big posts take up a hell of a lot of time!

Leave a Reply

