Mel’s 5 Second Review: The Paperboy

The Paperboy
(2012) Matthew McConnaughey, Zac Efron, Nicole Kidman, John Cusack, David Oyelowo and Scott Glenn

Image

I guess with the cast this film boasts, I was expecting too much from it. It was superbly acted, as I knew it would be (John Cusack is one of my favourite actors), but the film itself is over-long (or rather, it feels over-long even though it isn’t really, clocking in at 1h46) and dull and transparent at times. I have to admit though, I was disturbed by John Cusack’s character, as I guess we’re supposed to be. But I’m so used to seeing him as a good guy, this was very unsettling. 6/10

The film is currently streaming on Netflix, if you’re interested in seeing it. A word of warning: it’s very brutal. The sex/rape scene was especially uncomfortable to watch. But here’s the trailer, in case my warning interested you instead of deter you:

M.

One comment on “Mel’s 5 Second Review: The Paperboy

Leave a Reply

