30 Day Horror Challenge (in 6 Days): Days 16 to 20

Alright, enough slacking. Let’s get back to business!

Day 16 – Best Horror Movie Soundtrack: Twilight

Image

I know what you’re thinking, so just don’t :-p While the scariest thing about Twilight is Kristen Stewart‘s acting, it’s still about vampires and werewolves, so it technically qualifies as horror. And yes, I enjoy these films. Is Bella a good role model for teenage girls? Definitely not. Do I care? Not in the slightest. The films are fun, schmoopy, and have nice eye candy. It also has one of the most beautifully haunting soundtracks I’ve ever heard. I can listen to the score over and over, and it gets to me every time. Just beautiful. In the following video, my favorite is number 9, The Skin of a Killer, which starts at about 18:11.

 

Day 17 – Best 80’s Horror: Fright Night

Image

The 80’s were both awesome and awful at the same time. The decade that gave us some of the very best films, also decided to give us the worst. And the fashion… well what can be said about shoulder pads and tassels, really? The 80’s also gave us Fright Night, one of the most amazing vampire films ever to be put on celluloid. The acting is sometimes scary, the effects are “very 80’s”, the story pretty generic, but despite all that, there’s nothing you can say that will convince me that this isn’t one of the greatest things to come out of the whole decade. (Again, there was another film that would have gone here, but I’m still saving it for later. It’s worth the wait, believe me.) Fright Night is the story of teenager Charley, who becomes (rightly) convinced that his new neighbour, Jerry, is a vampire who’s murdering women. With his girlfriend Amy and best friend Evil by his side, he enlists the help of horror tv host Peter Vincent to slay the vampire (played to delicious perfection by the scrumptious Chris Sarandon). It’s campy, funny, sometimes tense and absolutely perfect.

 

Day 18 – Best Black and White Horror Film: Invasion of the Body Snatchers

Image

So, technically, The Last Man on Earth should go here, but I’m trying not to double up my answers. So I picked my second favorite, the 1956 alien flick Invasion of the Body Snatchers. This seemingly timeless film has a man finding that strange things are happening in his small town. People are turning into emotionless beings, who look and act like they used to, but those closest to the affected know something’s not right. One of the earliest films, to my knowledge, to have such an abysmal ending. Great, great film, that wouldn’t be out of place in cinemas today. (And that’s saying something about a 50’s film!)

 

Day 19 – Best Use of Gore: Event Horizon

Image

As I’ve said before, I’m not really a huge fan of the gore flick. Some is fine, even a lot is fine, if it fits in with the story, and is well done. But gore just for the sake of gore? That’s just gross for nothing, pointless splatter, and I don’t like that. Event Horizon has a good amount of gore, but the film is so good that the gore really doesn’t take away from the film at all. (Although, I’ve seen pictures of some of the deleted scenes, and I have to say I’m glad they got cut. I think it would have made the film go from amazing to pointlessly gory.) When a crew is sent to salvage a ship that’s been lost in deep space for years, they realize that it might not be as empty as it first seems. Well acted, well written and yes, well gorified.

 

Day 20 – Favorite Character in Horror: Dracula

Image

Is anyone really surprised here? There’s not much more to say. I love everything vampire, so it kinda goes without saying that my favorite horror movie character would be Dracula, in his many guises. The hard part was deciding which Dracula to post a picture of here, there have been so many. From the classic Bela Lugosi, the nightmare-inducing Max Schreck, the charismatic Gary Oldman, the beautiful Gerard Butler, the campy Christopher Lee, the slightly anemic looking Rudolf Martin or, most recently, the ridiculously attractive Jonathan Rhys-Meyers, there is no way to choose just one favorite. They’re all good in their own way. So I chose a picture of Gerard Butler in Dracula 2000, and a clip from Oldman’s 1992 Dracula.

 

And that’s a wrap for now! Stay tuned for Days 21 to 25, coming soon! 🙂

M.

Leave a Reply

